Andrew Payton

Poet, Fiction Writer, Creative Nonfiction Writer

Harrisonburg, VA
Virginia US

Author's Bio

Andrew Payton (he, him, his) received an MFA in Creative Writing and Environment at Iowa State University. His publications include work in Alaska Quarterly Review, Poet Lore, New Ohio Review, Masters Review, Nimrod, Southern Humanities Review, Rattle, and elsewhere. His writing has won the James Hearst Poetry Prize at North American Review, a finalist prize in The Chicago Tribune's Nelson Algren Award for short fiction, and was a Notable Essay in Best American Essays 2013. He has received an Emerging Writer Fellowship at Aspen Summer Words and J. William Fulbright fellowship to the Slovak Republic.

Publications & Prizes

Creative Nonfiction

Journals: , ,
Flyway: Journal of Writing and Environment
, , ,


Masculinity: an anthology of modern voices (Broken Sleep Books, 2024)
Prairie Gold: An Anthology of the American Heartland (Ice Cube Press, LLC, 2014)
Prizes won: 
  • Finalist for Nimrod International Journal's 2023 Pablo Neruda Prize in Poetry
  • Finalist for New Ohio Review's 2023 NORward Prize in Poetry
  • Finalist for Mid-American Review's 2016 James Wright Poetry Prize for "Strandings"
  • Runner-Up for Poetry of Society's 2016 Chapbook Fellowship 30 and Under for Strandings
  • Fulbright fellowship to Slovak Republic, 2014-2015
  • Honorable Mention in Creative Nonfiction for AWP's 2014 Intro Journal Awards
  • Runner-Up for Hunger Mountain's 2013 Howard Frank Mosher Short Fiction Prize
  • Emerging Writer Fellowship (Fiction) to 2013 Aspen Summer Words
  • Finalist Prize in Chicago Tribune's 2013 Nelson Algren Award for Short Fiction for "Potomac"
  • Winner of Flyway's 2013 Home Voices Prize for "You're Not Welcome Here"
  • Winner of North American Review's 2013 James Hearst Poetry Prize for "Bad May"

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Identifies as: 
European American, White
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
English, Spanish
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Sep 29, 2023