Another Chicago Magazine

See writers who are published in this journal
Genres Published: 
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Translation
Representative Authors: 
ACM was a print magazine from 1977 to 2016, publishing writers including Charles Bukowski, Samantha Irby, David Sedaris, Kathy Acker, Kim Addonizio, Sterling Plumpp, Robin Hemley, Julie Marie Wade, David Trinidad, Richard Cecil, Joshua Marie Wilkinson, Alan Cheuse, Joe Meno, Jim DeRogatis, Cris Mazza, Maxine Chernoff, Stuart Dybek, James McManus, Virgil Suarez, Albert Goldbarth, Shelley Jackson, Ryan Van Cleve, Paul Hoover, David Ignatow, Campbell McGrath, Beth Ann Fennelly, Patrick Somerville, Amelia Gray, Lindsay Hunter, Jac Jemc, Halle Butler, Ben Loory, and Brigit Pegeen Kelly.
Online, Digital, Audio, Video
Reading Period: 
Jan 1 to Aug 31
Response Time: 
3 to 6 months
Charges Reading Fee: 
Accepts Unsolicited Submissions: 
Accepts Simultaneous Submissions: 
Number of Debut Authors per Issue: 
0 first-time authors
No payment
Issues per Year: 
we publish twice weekly
Issue Price: 
Subscription Price: 
Less than 1,000

Editorial Focus

Another Chicago Magazine seeks work that is urgent and beautiful, that was written with lightning and a sense that tomorrow may never come.  The magazine loves work that is personal and political—political in the largest sense, as in awareness of who has the power and how they came to have it. Unlike many other lit mags, ACM publishes interviews with artists and activists, and reviews political books. It also publishes excerpts of forthcoming books in the Forthcoming section. 

Tips From the Editor

We also publish interviews, reviews, original art, audio/visual work. We rotate our reading periods. We charge a nominal fee to cover our Submittable costs. Submissions are free when they’re related to a particular theme. We are now accepting applications for a free residency in Maine.

Contact Information

Sandi Wisenberg, editor
1301 W. Byron Street
Please note: The information provided in this database is provided by the publishers listed in it.
Last updated: Feb 02, 2023