Jane Hirshfield


Mill Valley, CA 94941-2767

Author's Bio

Jane Hirshfield is the author of eight poetry books, including The Beauty, long-listed for the 2015 National Book Award and Given Sugar, Given Salt,, finalist for the 2001 National Book Critics Circle Award. She is also the author of two now-classic books of essays, Nine Gates and Ten Windows, and editor/co-translator of four books collecting the work of world poets from the deep past. Her honors include fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller foundations, the National Endowment for the Arts, and The Academy of American Poets; the California Book Award, Hall-Kenyon Prize in American Poetry, and Poetry Center Book Award; and best book of the year selections from The Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, and England’s Financial Times. A former chancellor of The Academy of American Poets, Hirshfield’s poems appear in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, The Times Literary Supplement, The Guardian, The New York Review of Books, Poetry, and ten volumes of The Best American Poetry. Her work has been translated into Polish, Chinese, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, and Russian. In 2019, she was elected into the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Her ninth poetry collection, Ledger, will appear from Knopf in early 2020.


Publications & Prizes

Ledger (Alfred A. Knopf, 2020)
The Beauty (Knopf, 2015)
Come, Thief (Knopf, 2011)
After (Harper Collins, 2006)
Given Sugar, Given Salt (Harper Collins, 2001)
The Lives of the Heart (Harper Collins, 1997)
The October Palace (Harper Collins, 1994)
Of Gravity & Angels (Wesleyan University Press, 1988)
Journals: ,
Atlantic Monthly
New Republic
New York Review of Books
The New Yorker
Prizes won: 

Guggenheim Fellowship

National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship

Rockefeller Foundation Fellowship

Poetry Center Book Award

California Book Award

Hall-Kenyon Prize in American Literature


More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Born in: 
New York
Raised in: 
New York, NY
New York
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: May 21, 2019