Eleanora H. DeWiltshire

Hello, 

I am an engineer who is finally getting into writing. I am almost done with the first draft of my first novel, a steampunk mystery set in an alternative Victorian era in what (was) Virginia. I have many other ideas for sequels, other books, and a collection of short stories. 

I think that next (while I let my novel sit before editing) I will write one of the short stories and try to submit it to a contest. 

I love the research portion, and history especially. Right now while writing I'm also trying to soak up as much as I can learn about the craft, while networking and setting up my brand as an author. 

It would be lovely to work with a group on this site. 

Sincerely, 

Eleanora

Pronouns: 
She/Her
Location: 
Derry, NH
United States
New Hampshire
Genres: 
Commercial Fiction, Cross-genre, Experimental, Feminist, Fiction, Historical, Lyric Essay, Regional, Serialized Fiction, Short Fiction, Speculative Fiction
My publishing/workshop experience: 
Have workshop experience
How I choose to identify myself: 
American
Languages I write or speak in: 
English
I’m looking for a group that:
Meets Online.
meets for
Critique, Encouragement.

meets
Monthly.

My groups: Feedback

H. S. Contino

I'm a bit of a hodgepodge. I'm interested in a variety of subjects and as a result, I write in a variety of genres. I've also had a mixed experience when it comes to publishing. I have traditionally published two non-fiction books (addressing regional maritime history), but I have also had some success self-publishing as well.

Honestly, I'm not sure of my expectations for any potential writing groups that I might join. I would love to find a supportive environment where I could recieve (and give) feedback and writing advice. But, I've had bad luck in the past tyring to find a writing community. fingers crossed that I have a better experience this time! :)

Pronouns: 
She/Her
Location: 
North Bend, OR
United States
Oregon
Genres: 
Cross-genre, Fiction, Historical, Love, Nonfiction, Regional, Short Fiction
My publishing/workshop experience: 
Published a book, Self-published a book
How I choose to identify myself: 
American
Languages I write or speak in: 
English
I’m looking for a group that:
Meets Online.
meets for
Critique, Workshop, Writing exercises, Encouragement, Inspiration, Accountability partners, Discussion, Tips, Reading.

meets
Bi-weekly.

DL Jones

I'm a recent college graduate working in the PR industry in Austin, Texas. I've been writing for a little over ten years, but I have little experience in submitting my stories to literary journals and contests. Recently I've been contemplating applying to grad school and getting my MFA in Creative Writing, but I want to fine tune my manuscript and ensure that I have something solid to submit when/if I apply. I'd like feedback on my writing just so I know what I'm doing right and what I'm doing wrong. Since most MFA programs are highly selective, I really want to make sure that I submit my best work. 

I graduated from college with a degree in Public Relations. At the time, I picked PR because I had read it was writing heavy. In the back of my mind, I envisioned myself working in PR while also working on my novels once I finish school, and once I started my writing career, I could leave my PR job. Now I'm working a PR job, and I see that I don't have time to write. I feel lucky if I can get an hour of writing in, and I spend that hour trying not to fall asleep from exhaustion. This is a part of the reason why I want to go back to school, so I can dedicate myself full-time to writing to see if this is a career path I want to pursue.

I haven't been able to rid myself of the desire to become a writer, though sometimes I wish I could. Life would be much easier if I was passionate and excited about my current career trajectory. 

As for what I write, I tend to focus on fiction. The types of fiction I write varies, but lately I've been focusing on horror, mystery, etc. Some of my favorite authors (and the ones I look to for inspiration) are Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, Shirley Jackson and Flannery O'Connor. 

Pronouns: 
She/Her
Location: 
Austin, TX
United States
Texas
Genres: 
Commercial Fiction, Feminist, Fiction, Flash Fiction, Historical, Humor, Regional
How I choose to identify myself: 
American
Languages I write or speak in: 
English, German
I’m looking for a group that:
Meets Online, Meets In Person.
meets for
Critique, Submissions, Encouragement, Discussion, Tips.

Michael Comiskey

I live in a semi-rural part of Pennsylvania.  I'm interested in critiquing others' poetry in my areas of interest (formal, nature, political and regional poetry) and in having others with similar interests critique my own poetry.

Pronouns: 
He/Him
Location: 
Connellsville, PA
United States
Pennsylvania
Genres: 
Formal Poetry, Nature/Environmental, Poetry, Political, Regional
My publishing/workshop experience: 
Have workshop experience
How I choose to identify myself: 
American
Languages I write or speak in: 
English
I’m looking for a group that:
Meets Online.
meets for
Critique, Tips.

meets
Bi-weekly.

Nude Bruce Review

Basic Information
United States
Contact Information
Andrew
Mobbs
Co-editor
Details
Genres Published: 
Poetry
Fiction
Creative Nonfiction
Formats: 
Web
E-publication
Reading Period: 
Jan 1 to Dec 31
Reporting Time: 
3 to 6 months
Charges Reading Fee: 
No
Accepts Electronic Submissions: 
Yes
Accepts Simultaneous Submissions: 
Yes
Accepts Unsolicited Submissions: 
No
Payment: 
No payment
Year Founded: 
2012
Issues per Year: 
2
Issue Price: 
Free (accessible online via our website)
Number of Debut Authors per Issue: 
10-20

Nude Bruce Review strives to publish compelling, high-quality work to allow emerging and existing writers from all over the globe the opportunity to showcase their talents.

Our tastes are eclectic, so any subject matter is welcome. In terms of forms of poetry, we're partial towards free verse, narrative, and experimental, but a well-crafted sonnet, ghazal, or pantoum will surely command our attention. When it comes down to brass tacks, our hope is to read something and be benevolently envious that we didn't write it ourselves. Peace, love, and Bruce.

Elizabeth Gauffreau

I have a BA in English/Creative Writing and an MA in English/Fiction Writing. I have been writing primarily literary short stories and poetry, which have been published in literary magazines. I published my debut novel, Telling Sonny, in 2018. I'm mainly looking for a group of writers who focus on literary fiction. I've been through the workshop experience, and I'm much more interested now in discussion and feedback than formal workshop critique.  

Pronouns: 
She/Her
Location: 
Nottingham, NH
United States
New Hampshire
Genres: 
Historical, Literary Fiction, Poetry, Regional
My publishing/workshop experience: 
Published a book, Have workshop experience
How I choose to identify myself: 
American
Languages I write or speak in: 
English
I’m looking for a group that:
Meets Online.
has a maximum group size of 5.
meets for
Submissions, Encouragement, Inspiration, Discussion, Tips.

meets
Monthly.

My groups: Writers at work

Wineskin

Basic Information
414 N Meridian Street
Newberg
Oregon
United States
97132
Contact Information
Elizabeth
Kerns
Editor-in-Chief
Details
Genres Published: 
Poetry
Fiction
Creative Nonfiction
Formats: 
Web
E-publication
Print
Reading Period: 
Sep 1 to Mar 1
Reporting Time: 
Less than 3 months
Charges Reading Fee: 
No
Accepts Electronic Submissions: 
Yes
Accepts Simultaneous Submissions: 
Yes
Accepts Unsolicited Submissions: 
Yes
Payment: 
Contributor copies only
Issues per Year: 
2
Circulation: 
Less than 1,000

Based out of a small Quaker school in the Pacific Northwest, we showcase the writing and art of new and upcoming artists and writers. Published once a semester, the magazine includes poetry, prose, photography, illustration, and digital media. 

EmilyESlomski

I am a historian and teacher who writes personal and historical essays. I am also working on a novel right now very loosely based on some family history looking at the legacy of bound apprenticeship post-Civil War in the Midwest. I am hoping that it reads in the tradition of Kristin Hannah or Alice Hoffman - historically set but thoroughly fiction. 

 

I am looking to build a community with other writers. In this next phase of my career and life, I want to feed and grow my writer self and connect with other writers. 

 

 

Pronouns: 
She/Her
Location: 
Elmhurst, NY
United States
New York
Genres: 
Autobiography/Memoir, Fiction, Historical, Nonfiction, Regional
How I choose to identify myself: 
American
Languages I write or speak in: 
English
I’m looking for a group that:
Meets Online, Meets In Person.

Deborah-Zenha Adams

I've published novels with major NYC houses and regional presses, along with a number of short stories. Currently I write mostly CNF, with a little short fiction thrown in. I also teach memoir workshops. My idea group would be composed of a few serious writers (as opposed to serious marketers) who can provide valuable critique.

Pronouns: 
She/Her
Location: 
TN
United States
Tennessee
Genres: 
Commercial Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Fiction, Healing/Health, Literary Fiction, Lyric Essay, Narrative Nonfiction, Nature/Environmental, Regional, Short Fiction
My publishing/workshop experience: 
Published in literary journal, Published a book, Have workshop experience
How I choose to identify myself: 
American, Buddhist, Feminist, Other
Languages I write or speak in: 
English
I’m looking for a group that:
Meets In Person.
meets for
Critique, Workshop, Encouragement, Accountability partners.

Apple Valley Review

Basic Information
88 South 3rd Street
Suite 336
San Jose
California
United States
95113
Contact Information
Leah
Browning
Editor
Details
Genres Published: 
Poetry
Fiction
Creative Nonfiction
Formats: 
Web
Reading Period: 
Jan 1 to Dec 31
Reporting Time: 
Less than 3 months
Charges Reading Fee: 
No
Accepts Electronic Submissions: 
Yes
Accepts Simultaneous Submissions: 
Yes
Accepts Unsolicited Submissions: 
Yes
Year Founded: 
2005
Percentage of Unsolicited Submissions Published: 
1% to 5%
Representative Authors: 
<p>Do-hyeon Ahn, Laura Lee Beasley, Cameron Conaway, Vince Corvaia, Thomas Andrew Green, Matthew Grice, Barry Jay Kaplan, Keetje Kuipers, Inderjeet Mani, Robert Radin, Jessica Rafalko, Lisa Robertson, Robert Lavett Smith, Sharlene Teo, Donna Vorreyer</p>
Issues per Year: 
2
Subscription Price: 
Free
Issue Price: 
Free
Number of Debut Authors per Issue: 
1%

The Apple Valley Review is an online literary journal. It is published twice annually, once in spring and once in fall. Each issue features a collection of poetry, short fiction, and essays. Our goal is to support and promote both emerging and established writers.

We prefer work that has both mainstream and literary appeal. Please do not send us strict genre fiction or erotica, work containing explicit language or violence, or work that is scholarly or critical, inspirational, or intended for children. Please note that these are purely editorial preferences. Work that is not a good fit here may be perfect for another market.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Regional