Larry D. Thomas


Author's Bio

The 2008 Texas Poet Laureate, Larry D. Thomas has published ten collections of poems. His most recent collections are New and Selected Poems (TCU Press 2008) and The Circus (online chapbook published by Right Hand Pointing 2008). He is a member of the Texas Institute of Letters.

Publications and Prizes

Amazing Grace
(Texas Review Press, 2001)
, Lighthouse Keeper
(Timberline Press, 2001)
, New and Selected Poems
(Texas Christian University Press, 2008)
, Stark Beauty
(Timberline Press, 2005)
, The Fraternity of Oblivion
(Timberline Press, 2008)
, The Woodlanders
(Pecan Grove Press, 2002)
, Where Skulls Speak Wind
(Texas Review Press, 2004)
Borderlands: Texas Poetry Review, Christian Science Monitor, Concho River Review, Louisiana Literature, Midwest Quarterly, Rattle, REAL: Regarding Arts & Letters, Southwestern American Literature, Texas Review, Valparaiso Poetry Review
(Slow Trains Literary Journal, 2007)
, The Circus
(Right Hand Pointing, 2008)
, With the Light of Apricots
(Lily Literary Review Press, 2007)
Prizes Won: 
2004 Texas Review Poetry Prize 2004 Violet Crown Book Award 2003 Western Heritage Award 2001 Texas Review Poetry Prize

Personal Favorites

What I'm Reading Now: 
Best American Short Stories 2007 by Stephen King

More Information

Listed as: 
Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last updated: May 17, 2011