Sandra Beasley

Washington, DC 20024

Author's Bio

Sandra Beasley is the author of two poetry collections: I Was the Jukebox, selected by Joy Harjo as the winner of the 2009 Barnard Women Poets Prize, and Theories of Falling, selected by Marie Howe as the winner of the 2007 New Issues Poetry Prize. Her poems appeared in such journals as Poetry, Tin House, Virginia Quarterly Review, and the Best American Poetry 2010. She is also an essayist whose work has appeared in the Washington Post Magazine, The Oxford American, and The New York Times Book Review. In 2010, Crown published her memoir Don't Kill the Birthday Girl: Tales from an Allergic Life, a cultural history of food allergy. She lives in Washington, DC, and teaches with the low-res MFA program at the University of Tampa.

Publications and Prizes

Count the Waves: Poems
(W. W. Norton & Company, 2015)
, Don't Kill the Birthday Girl: Tales from an Allergic Life
(Crown, 2011)
, I Was the Jukebox: Poems
(W. W. Norton & Company, 2010)
, Theories of Falling
(New Issues Press, 2008)
2011 New California Writing
(Heyday Books, 2011)
, Bedside Guide to No Tell Motel
(No Tell Books, 2007)
, Best American Poetry
(Scribner, 2010)
, Best New Poets 2005
(Samovar Press, 2005)
, i.e. reader
(, 2010)
, Raising Lilly Ledbetter: Women Poets Occupy the Workspace
(Lost Horse Press, 2015)
, The Ecopoetry Anthology
(Trinity University Press, 2013)
, The Incredible Sestina Anthology
(Write Bloody Publishing, 2013)
32 Poems, Agni, Agni Online, Barrelhouse, Believer, Black Warrior Review, Blackbird, Blue Fifth Review, Cimarron Review, Coconut Magazine, Columbia Poetry Review, Creative Nonfiction, Eleventh Muse, Florida Review, Foursquare, Gulf Coast, Hayden's Ferry Review, Hotel Amerika, Inkwell, Iowa Review, Meridian, New Orleans Review, Passages North, Pebble Lake Review, Pleiades, Poet Lore, Poetry, Poetry International, Potomac Review, Reed Magazine, Rhino Magazine, Slate, The Gettysburg Review, The Normal School, The Oxford American, The Rattling Wall, Tin House, Virginia Quarterly Review
None in the Same Room: Poems from the Traveler's Vade Mecum
(The Center for Book Arts, 2013)
Prizes Won: 
In 2013 she served as the Writer in Residence at Lenoir-Rhyne University in Hickory, North Carolina, and the Distinguished Writer at Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa. Other honors include a 2012 Larry Neal Writers Award and 2014 and 2010 Individual Artist Fellowships from the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities; the 2009 Friends of Literature Prize from the Poetry Foundation; the 2008 Maureen Egen Exchange Award from Poets & Writers; the 2006 Elinor Benedict Poetry Prize from Passages North/Northern Michigan University; and the 2005 Myra Sklarew Award for Outstanding Thesis from American University. She has also received fellowships to the Jentel Artist Residency, the Millay Colony for the Arts, Virginia Center for Creative Artists, Vermont Studio Center, the Indiana Writers' Conference, and the Sewanee Writers' Conference, where she was a Walter E. Dakin Fellow in 2008.

More Information

Listed as: 
Creative Nonfiction Writer, Poet
Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Vienna, VA
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last updated: Nov 01, 2016