Karin Cecile Davidson

Fiction Writer

Columbus, OH

Author's Bio

Karin Cecile Davidson is the author of the novel Sybelia Drive (Braddock Avenue Books, 2020). Her stories have appeared in Story Magazine, The Massachusetts Review, Five Points, Colorado Review, The Los Angeles Review, Passages North, Post Road, Iron Horse Literary Review, New Delta Review, storySouth, and elsewhere. Her awards include a 2018 Ohio Arts Council Residency at Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, a 2018 Atlantic Center for the Arts Residency, a 2015 Studios of Key West Residency, a 2014 Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award, a 2012 Orlando Prize for Short Fiction, the 2012 Waasmode Short Fiction Prize, and a 2012 Peter Taylor Fellowship. Her fiction has been nominated for Pushcart and Best of the Net, as well as shortlisted in several writing competitions, including the Glimmer Train Short Story Award for New Writers, the Marguerite McGlinn Fiction Prize, the Nelligan Prize, Jaimy Gordon Fiction Prize, the Faulkner-Wisdom Writing Competition, the Bridport Prize, the Red Hen Press Women’s Prose Prize, and the Autumn House Press Fiction Contest. She has an MFA from Lesley University and is the Interviews Editor for Newfound Journal. Her writing can be found at karinceciledavidson.com.

Writers Retreats: 
Literary agent: 
Valerie Borchardt

Publications & Prizes

Animal: Beast of a Literary Magazine
, , ,
Iron Horse Literary Review
, , , , , , , , , ,
Story Magazine
, ,
This Land
Prizes won: 

Ohio Arts Council Artist Residency at Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, Atlantic Center for the Arts Residency, The Studios of Key West Artist Residency, Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award, AROHO's Orlando Prize for Short Fiction, Waasmode Short Fiction Prize, Peter Taylor Fellowship

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Identifies as: 
Norwegian American
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Winter Park, FL
Raised in: 
New Orleans, LA
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Feb 10, 2021