Cai Emmons

Fiction Writer

Author's Bio

Cai Emmons is the author of the novels His Mother’s Son, The Stylist, Weather Woman, and the forthcoming Sinking Islands. Her story collection, Vanishing, winner of the 2018 Leapfrog Press Fiction Contest, was published in March 2020. Formerly a playwright and screenwriter, her short work has appeared in such publications as TriQuarterly, Narrative, and Arts and Culture, among others. She is a graduate of Yale University, New York University, and the University of Oregon where she taught in the Creative Writing Program from 2002-2018. Emmons passed away at the age of seventy-one on January 2, 2023.

Publications & Prizes

Weather Woman (Red Hen Press, 2018)
The Stylist (Fourth Estate / HarperPerennial, 2007)
His Mother's Son (Harcourt, 2003)
Prizes won: 

Ken Kesey Award for the Novel;

2018 Leapfrog Fiction Contest;

Nautilus Book Award;

Finalist Missouri Review Editor's Prize;

Finalist Narrative Magazine Fiction Prize;

Eric Hoffer Grand Prize--Short-list;

Orison Prize Semi-Finalist 

Personal Favorites

Favorite authors: 
Alice McDermott, Jennifer Egan, Colum McCann

More Information

Identifies as: 
European American, Feminist
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Boston , MA
Raised in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Jan 31, 2023