Sewanee Writers’ Conference

See writers who attended this retreat
Sewanee, TN
Financial Aid Application Deadline: 
March 20, 2019
E-mail address: 

The 30th annual Sewanee Writers’ Conference was held from July 16 to July 28 on the campus of the University of the South in Sewanee, Tennessee. The conference featured workshops, lectures, readings, and panel discussions for poets and fiction writers. The faculty included poets B. H. Fairchild, Robert Hass, Mark Jarman, Maurice Manning, Marilyn Nelson, Mary Jo Salter, A. E. Stallings, and Sidney Wade; and fiction writers Jeffery Renard Allen, Tony Earley, Adrianne Harun, Randall Kenan, Michael Knight, Bobbie Ann Mason, Jill McCorkle, Tim O’Brien, Christine Schutt, and Steve Yarbrough. Participating writers included poet Wyatt Prunty, fiction writers Charles Martin and Alice McDermott, and translator N. S. Thompson. Participating agents and editors included Jin Auh (Wylie Agency), Anna Lena Phillips Bell (Ecotone and Lookout Books), Millicent Bennett (Grand Central Publishing), Valerie Borchardt (Georges Borchardt Literary Agency), Michelle Brower (Aevitas Creative Management), Sarah Burnes (Gernert Company), George David Clark (32 Poems), David Scott Cunningham (University of Arkansas Press), Barbara Epler (New Directions), Jessica Faust (Southern Review), Gary Fisketjon (Knopf), Mary Flinn (Blackbird), Emily Forland (Brandt & Hochman Literary Agents), Gail Hochman (Brandt & Hochman Literary Agents), Parneshia Jones (Northwestern University Press), Allison Joseph (Crab Orchard Review), Jeff Kleinman (Folio Literary Management), David Lynn (Kenyon Review), Speer Morgan (Missouri Review), Emily Nemens (Paris Review), Kathy Pories (Algonquin Books), Adam Ross (Sewanee Review), Elisabeth Schmitz (Grove Atlantic), Anna Stein (ICM Partners), Philip Terzian (Weekly Standard ), Liz Van Hoose (5E), Michael Wiegers (Copper Canyon Press), Robert Wilson (American Scholar), David Yezzi (Hopkins Review and New Criterion), and Renée Zuckerbrot (Massie & McQuilkin). Tuition, including room and board, was $1,800. Fellowships and scholarships were available for published writers. Writers submitted 10 to 15 pages of poetry or 20 to 40 pages of fiction by March 20. There was no application fee. Visit the website for an application and complete guidelines.

Contact Information

Sewanee Writers’ Conference, University of the South, 119 Gailor Hall, 735 University Avenue, Sewanee, TN 37383.