University of Oregon, Eugene

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Eugene, OR
Poetry, Fiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
January 15, 2018
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Lowell Bowditch
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Daniel Anderson, Geri Doran, Garrett Hongo
Fiction: Jason Brown, Marjorie Celona, Karen Thompson Walker

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers full funding. All students receive teaching fellowships, which includes a tuition waiver, health insurance, and a yearly stipend of $18,000 for the two-year program.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 

Northwest Review

Other Features: 

The program hosts a reading series with six visiting writers each year. Other features include the student-run reading series Live-Lit West, and the opportunity for each first-year student to take a term-long individual tutorial with a faculty member.


William Archila, Lory Bedikian, Lilias Bever, Olga Broumas,Daniel Camacho, Gary Clark, Rachel Dagold, Debra Dean, Elyse Fento, Charles Flowers, Gina Ray Foster, Felicia Caton Garcia, Miriam Gershow, Eugene Gloria, Erdag Goknar, Kate Lynn Hibbard, Sarah Hulse, Lawson Fusao Inada, Major Jackson, Sara Elizabeth Johnson, Brigit Pegeen Kelly, Ken Kesey, Keetje Kuipers, Chang-Rae Lee, Barry Lopez, Brandy Nalani McDougall, Andres Montoya, Gina Oschner, Sonya Posmentier, Kirstin Valdez Quade, Barbara Rass, Josh Robbins, Susan Rich, Ira Sadoff, Jeffrey Schultz, Shimon Tanaka, Brian Turner, Brendan Willey, Dawn Diez Willis