Simone Muench

Lewis University 1 University Pkwy
Romeoville, IL 60446

Author's Bio

Simone Muench was raised in Louisiana and Arkansas and now resides in Chicago, Illinois. She received her Ph.D from the University of Illinois at Chicago, and currently directs the Writing Program at Lewis University where she is an associate professor and teaches creative writing and film studies. She is the author of The Air Lost in Breathing (Marianne Moore Prize for Poetry; Helicon Nine, 2000), Lampblack & Ash (Kathryn A. Morton Prize for Poetry; Sarabande, 2005), Orange Crush (Sarabande, 2010) and Disappearing Address, co-written with Philip Jenks (BlazeVOX, 2010). A former editor of ACM, she is now an editor for Sharkforum and chief faculty advisor for Jet Fuel Review; additionally, she serves on the advisory boards of Switchback Books. A vegetarian and life long horror film fan, you can find her at

Publications and Prizes

Lampblack & Ash
(Sarabande Books, 2005)
, Orange Crush
(Sarabande Books, 2010)
, The Air Lost in Breathing
(Helicon Nine Editions, 2000)
A Public Space, Boston Review, Colorado Review, Denver Quarterly, Gulf Coast, Iowa Review, Poetry, Quarterly West
Little Visceral Carnival (co-written with Philip Jenks)
(Cinematheque Press, 2009)
, Notebook. Knife. Mentholatum.
(New Michigan Press, 2003)
, Orange Girl
(Dancing Girl Press, 2007)
Prizes Won: 
1999 Marianne Moore Prize for Poetry 2009 Kathryn A. Morton Prize for Poetry 2000 Illinois Arts Council Fellowship 2009 Illinois Arts Council Fellowship 2011 Vermont Student Center Fellowship 2012 Vermont Student Center Fellowship 49th Parallel Poetry Award PSA’s Fine Lines Contest Charles Goodnow Awardv AWP Intro Journals Award Poetry Center’s 9th Annual Juried Reading Award PSA’s Bright Lights/Big Verse Award 2012 Lewis University Faculty Scholar Award UIC's Frederick Stern Award for Teaching

More Information

Listed as: 
Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Born in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last updated: Oct 21, 2012