Milkweed Expands Midwestern Poetry Prize

Minneapolis–based independent publisher Milkweed Editions recently announced that its Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry will continue under a new name, the Ballard Spahr Prize for Poetry. The annual books prize, which is open to poets living in the upper Midwest, has also been expanded to include Michigan on its list of eligible states of residence for entrants.

Established in 2011, the prize offers $10,000 and publication by Milkweed Editions for a collection of poetry by an emerging or established poet residing in Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, or Michigan.

“This meaningful prize recognizes artistic excellence and rewards poets publicly and lucratively, and we are grateful for the vision and commitment of the Ballard Spahr Foundation to carry this prize forward in partnership with Milkweed,” said Daniel Slager, Milkweed’s publisher and CEO.

Submissions are currently open, and the deadline is February 15. Using the online submission system, submit a manuscript of at least 48 pages. There is no entry fee. Khaled Mattawa will judge.

Previous winners include Claire Wahmanholm for Wilder (2018); Caitlin Bailey for Solve for Desire (2017); Chris Santiago for Tula (2016); Jennifer Willoughby for Beautiful Zero (2015); Michael Bazzett for You Must Remember This (2014); Rebecca Dunham for Glass Armonica (2013); and Patricia Kirkpatrick for Odessa (2012).