Burningword Literary Journal

See writers who are published in this journal
Genres Published: 
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
Representative Authors: 
Contributors include Sam Barbee, John Sweet, Arthur Plotnik, Changming Yuan, George Perreault, Janet Buck, Bill Wunder, Rich Ives, Michelle Bowdler, Mark Belair, John Kristofco, Sean Murphy, Donna Emerson, and many more; all of whom equally represent the voice of Burningword. Representative authors include featured writers of the best anthologies, editors of major periodicals, award-winning authors, and numerous emerging and first-time writers.
Online, Digital, Print
Reading Periods: 
Jan 1 to Mar 10
Apr 1 to Jun 10
Jul 1 to Sep 10
Oct 1 to Dec 10
Response Time: 
Less than 3 months
Charges Reading Fee: 
Accepts Unsolicited Submissions: 
Accepts Simultaneous Submissions: 
Number of Debut Authors per Issue: 
Contributor copies only
Issues per Year: 
Issue Price: 
5,000 to 10,000

Editorial Focus

Burningword Literary Journal (ISSN 2161-8992 print / ISSN 2157-7366 online) is a quarterly publication that seeks to discover and showcase the most exciting new voices in literature, featuring an eclectic mix of poetry, short fiction, short nonfiction, and visual art. Burningword has been published continuously since June 2000.

Tips From the Editor

Accepted works: Poetry in any form or style, flash fiction, flash nonfiction, along with photography and digital art. Issues are published Jan 5, April 5, July 5, and Oct 5. The cut-off date for submissions is the 10th day of the prior month for each quarter. (https://burningword.submittable.com). This journal uses blind review, which means that both the reviewer and author identities are concealed throughout the review process. In addition to the regular issues, end-of-year award nominations culminate in an annual "best-of" issue and nominations to both the Pushcart and Best of Net awards. 

Contact Information

Erik Deerly, Managing Editor
Burrdowning Press
PO Box 52945
Please note: The information provided in this database is provided by the publishers listed in it.
Last updated: Oct 09, 2023