Reyes Ramirez

Poet, Fiction Writer

Houston, TX 77087

Author's Bio

Reyes Ramirez (he/him) is a Houstonian, writer, educator, curator, and organizer of Mexican and Salvadoran descent. He is the author of the short story collection The Book of Wanderers (2022) with University of Arizona Press’ Camino del Sol series and the poetry collection Answers Without Questions (2023) with Hub City Press. Reyes won the 2019 YES Contemporary Art Writer’s Grant, 2017 Blue Mesa Review Nonfiction Contest, 2014 riverSedge Poetry Prize and has poems, stories, essays, and reviews in: Indiana Review, Speculative Fiction for Dreamers: A Latinx Anthology, Infrarrealista Review, Cosmonauts Avenue, december magazine, Arteinformado, Texas Review, Houston Noir, Gulf Coast Journal, The Acentos Review, Cimarron Review, and elsewhere. He is a 2020 CantoMundo Fellow, 2021 Interchange Artist Grant Fellow, 2022 Crosstown Arts Writer in Residence, and has been awarded grants from the Houston Arts Alliance, Poets & Writers, and The Warhol Foundation’s Idea Fund.

Reyes has also been a finalist for several honors, contests & prizes, including: Hub City Press’ 2021 New Southern Voices Poetry Book Prize; 2021-2023 Houston Poet Laureate; 2021 Jesse H. Jones Dobie Paisano Fellowship; Cosmonauts Avenue's 2018 fiction prize; december magazine's 2018 poetry prize; Indiana Review’s 2019 Creative Nonfiction Contest; Texas Review Press’, Iron Horse Literary Review's and Gold Line Press' poetry chapbook competitions; Orison Books’ 2019 Prize in Fiction; and PANK’s Fiction Book Contest. His other distinctions include an Honorable Mention for Texas Observer’s 2019 Short Story Contest, Santa Fe Writer’s Project’s 2019 Book Award Long List, Semifinalist for Tupelo Press’ 2021 Berkshire Prize, YesYes Books’ 2019 Fiction Open Reading Period and the 2020 OSU Press/The Journal Wheeler Prize for Poetry.

Publications & Prizes


Houston Noir (Akashic Books, 2019)
The Book of Wanderers (University of Arizona Press, 2022)
Journals: ,
Cosmonauts Avenue


Pariahs (Stephen F. Austin State University Press, 2016)
Answers Without Questions (Hub City Press, 2023)
, , ,
Prizes won: 

2019 YES Contemporary Art Writers Grant, 2017 Blue Mesa Review Nonfiction Contest, 2014 riverSedge Poetry Prize, 2012 Sylvan Karchmer Fiction Prize

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Identifies as: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
English, Spanish
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Houston, TX
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Feb 20, 2022