J Brooke

Poet, Creative Nonfiction Writer

Essex, CT 06475

Author's Bio

J Brooke (They/e) won Columbia Journal’s 2020 Nonfiction Award for their autobiographical essay, “HYBRID”, in the Womxn’s History Month Special Issue. Their work has appeared in The Normal School, Electric Lit, Harvard Review, Maine Review, Bangalore Review, The Sun, and others and is upcoming in The Massachusetts Review and The Fiddlehead. Brooke was Nonfiction Editor of the Stonecoast Review while receiving an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Southern Maine.

Publications & Prizes


Arlington Literary Journal
, , ,
Detour Ahead
Hartskill Review
, , ,
Tiny Seed Literary Journal
Prizes won: 

Nonfiction winner in Columbia Journal’s 2020 Womxn’s History Month Special Issue/

Beyond Words Literary Magazine’s 2020 Dream Challenge Winner/

Craft Literary 2021 Flash Fiction Hon. Mention/

Maine Review 2021 Embody Award Hon. Mention/

Streetlight Magazine's 2020 Nonfiction/Memoir Hon. Mention/

Gival Press 2021 Oscar Wilde Award Finalist/

North American Review 2020 Kurt Vonnegut Prize Finalist/

Sunspot Lit 2020 Flash Fiction Award Finalist

Personal Favorites

Favorite authors: 
Claudia Rankine Roxanne Gay Meg Wolitzer Joan Didion Gabrielle Calvocoressi Carmen Maria Machado Alexander Chee Ann Patchett Ta-Nehisi-Coates David Sedaris Samantha Irby Anne Lamott Ibram X. Kendi Kurt Vonnegut Maggie Nelson
What I'm reading now: 
Revolutions of All Colors by Dewaine Farria, Shortcomings by Adrian Tomine, Hidden Valley Road by Robert Kolker, A Promised Land by Barack Obama, Why Fish Don't Exist by Lulu Miller

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Identifies as: 
American, Jewish, LGBTQ, Other
Prefers to work with: 
Any, At Risk Youth, Children, Disability, Immigration, LGBTQ, Naturalists/Environmentalists, Schools, Seniors, Teachers, Teenagers, Women
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
New York City, NY
New York
Raised in: 
New York City, NY
New York
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Aug 15, 2022