Stonecoast MFA, University of Southern Maine

MFA Program

MFA Program Established: 
Portland, ME
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
September 15, 2016
Application Fee: 
Contact Name: 
Matt Jones
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Jeanne Marie Beaumont, Ted Deppe, Martín Espada, Debra Marquart, Stephen Motika, David Mura, Alexs Pate, Elena Rivera
Fiction: Rick Bass, Sarah Braunstein, Breena Clarke, Jae Muncharoen Coffin, Susan Conley, David Anthony Durham, Theodora Goss, Aaron Hamburger, Elizabeth Hand, Nancy Holder, James Patrick Kelly, Michael Kimball,  David Mura, Alexs Pate, Dolen Perkins-Valdez, Elizabeth Searle, Suzanne Strempek Shea, Brandon Som, Justin Tussing
Nonfiction: Rick Bass, Jae Muncharoen Coffin, Susan Conley, T. Fleischmann, Debra Marquart,  David Mura, Suzanne Strempek Shea

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers scholarships and internships.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 

Stonecoast Review

Other Features: 

Students attend two 10-day residencies each year, in January and July, on either the coast of Maine or in Ireland. The January residency takes place in Freeport, Maine, and Howth, Ireland; the July residency takes place in Brunswick, Maine, and Dingle, Ireland. The program offers concentrations in literary craft, critical theory, community service, creative collaboration, pedagogy, and publishing.


Patrick Bagley, Jaed Coffin, Jeanette Lynes, Kim Dana Kupperman, Indigo Moor, Alexs Pate, Penelope Schwartz Robinson, Michaela Roessner-Herman, Colin Sargent, Patricia Smith, Laura Williams