Ethel Rackin


Bucks County, PA

Author's Bio

Ethel Rackin is the author of three books of poetry: The Forever Notes (Parlor Press, 2013); Go On (Parlor Press, 2016), a National Jewish Book Award finalist; and Evening (Furniture Press, 2017). Her new text is Crafting Poems and Stories: A Guide to Creative Writing (Broadview Press, 2022). Her collaborative lyric sequence, “Soledad,” written with Elizabeth Savage, was awarded the 2016 Thomas Merton Prize for Poetry of the Sacred by Elizabeth Robinson, and another collaborative sequence, "Silent e," is included in They Said: A Multi-Genre Anthology of Collaborative Writing (Black Lawrence Press, 2018). Her work has appeared in The American Poetry Review, Colorado Review, Columbia Poetry Review, Hotel Amerika, Jacket2, Kenyon Review, New England Review, Poetry Daily, Verse Daily, Volt, and other journals. She earned her MFA from Bard College and her PhD in English Literature from Princeton University. A MacDowell fellow, she has taught at Penn State Brandywine, Haverford College, and Bucks County Community College in Pennsylvania, where she is a professor of English.

Publications & Prizes

Evening (Furniture Press Books, 2017)
Go On (Parlor Press, 2016)
The Forever Notes (Parlor Press, 2013)
Journals: ,
Big Bridge
Brooklyn Review
, ,
Court Green
Evergreen Review
Hotel Amerika
Kenyon Review Online
, ,
Skanky Possum
, ,
Verse Daily
Prizes won: 

Thomas Merton Prize in Poetry of the Sacred, Co-Author: Elizabeth Savage; Finalist, National Jewish Book Award, 2016; Finalist, Green Rose Prize in Poetry, 2016; Finalist, 2014 Akron Poetry Prize

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Philadelphia, PA
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Jul 16, 2022