Elizabeth Graver

Fiction Writer

New York , NY
New York US

Author's Bio

Elizabeth Graver’s novel, The End of the Point, was on the long list for the 2013 National Book Award in Fiction, as well a New York Times Notable Book of the Year . She is the author of three other novels: Awake, The Honey Thief, and Unravelling. Her short story collection, Have You Seen Me?, won the 1991 Drue Heinz Literature Prize. Her work has been anthologized in Best American Short Stories (1991, 2001); Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards (1994, 1996, 2001), The Pushcart Prize Anthology (2001), and Best American Essays (1998). Her story “The Mourning Door” was awarded the Cohen Prize from Ploughshares Magazine. The recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, Yaddo and MacDowell, she teaches at Boston College.

Writers Retreats: 

Publications & Prizes

Best American Short Stories (Houghton Mifflin, 2001)
O. Henry Prize Stories (Anchor Books, 2001)
Pushcart Prize Stories (Pushcart Press, 2001)
Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards, 1996 (Anchor/Doubleday, 1996)
Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards (Anchor/Doubleday, 1994)
Best American Short Stories (Houghton Mifflin, 1991)
The End of the Point (Harper, 2013)
Awake (Harcourt Brace, 2005)
Awake (Henry Holt, 2004)
The Honey Thief (Hyperion Books, 1999)
Unravelling (Hyperion Books, 1997)
Have You Seen Me? (Ecco Press, 1993)
Prizes won: 

National Book Award Long List, Drue Heinz Literature Prize; Guggenheim Fellowship; NEA Fellowship; Cohen Award for the Short Story; MacDowell Fellow; Blue Mountain Center Fellow, Newhouse Fellowship at Wellesley College. 

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Identifies as: 
Jewish, White
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Los Angeles, CA
Raised in: 
Williamstown , MA
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Aug 08, 2021