Ethel Rackin

Bucks County, PA

Author's Bio

Ethel Rackin is the author of three books of poetry: The Forever Notes (Parlor Press, 2013); Go On (Parlor Press, 2016), a National Jewish Book Award finalist; and Evening (Furniture Press, 2017). Her work has appeared in The American Poetry Review, Colorado Review, Columbia Poetry Review, Hotel Amerika, Jacket2, Kenyon Review, Poetry Daily, Verse Daily, Volt, and other journals. Elizabeth Robinson awarded her collaborative lyric sequence, “Soledad,” written with Elizabeth Savage, the 2016 Thomas Merton Prize for Poetry of the Sacred. She earned her MFA from Bard College and her PhD in English Literature from Princeton University. The recipient of a 2018 MacDowell Colony fellowship, she has taught at Penn State Brandywine, Haverford College, and Bucks County Community College in Pennsylvania, where she is a professor of English.

Publications and Prizes

(Furniture Press Books, 2017)
, Go On
(Parlor Press, 2016)
, The Forever Notes
(Parlor Press, 2013)
American Poetry Review, Big Bridge, Brooklyn Review, Colorado Review, Court Green, Evergreen Review, Hotel Amerika, Jacket2, Kenyon Review Online, Poetry East, Skanky Possum, South Dakota Review, Verse Daily, Volt
Prizes Won: 
Thomas Merton Prize in Poetry of the Sacred, Co-Author: Elizabeth Savage; Finalist, National Jewish Book Award, 2016; Finalist, Green Rose Prize in Poetry, 2016; Finalist, 2014 Akron Poetry Prize

More Information

Listed as: 
Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Philadelphia, PA
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last updated: Aug 16, 2018