Black Caucus of the American Library Association

Literary Awards

December 31, 2023
Cash Prize: 
E-mail address: 

Four prizes of $1,000 each are given annually for a poetry collection, a first novel, a book of fiction, and a book of nonfiction (including creative nonfiction) by African American writers published in the United States in the current year. The awards honor books that depict the “cultural, historical, or sociopolitical aspects of the Black Diaspora.” Publishers may nominate books published in 2023 by December 31. There is no entry fee. Visit the website for a list of jurors to whom books should be sent and complete guidelines.

Black Caucus of the American Library Association, Literary Awards, 129 William R. Harvey Way, Hampton, VA 23668. (757) 727-5185. Gladys Smiley Bell, Chair.