University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

PhD Program

Program Established: 
Milwaukee, WI
Not Genre-Specific, Poetry, Fiction
Incoming Class Size: 
40-50 (MA and PhD students combined)
Application Deadline: 
December 15, 2017
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Rebecca Dunham
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Kimberly Blaeser, Brenda Cárdenas, Rebecca Dunham, Maurice Kilwein-Guevara
Fiction: Liam Callanan, George Clark, Maurice Kilwein-Guevara, Valerie Laken

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

This program offers teaching assistantships, fellowships, and awards.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts several internal writing contests, and the United We Read Graduate Student/Faculty Reading Series and Visiting Writers series. Visiting writers and poets have included Peter Rock, Daniel Borzutzky, Ken Barris, Pete Fromm, Nicole Cooley, Jesse Lee Kercheval, George Bowering, Robert Olen Butler, Kyoko Mori, Carolyn Knox, Ron Tanner, Adam Johnson, Robert Coover, Nega Mezlekia, Charles Bernstein, and Galway Kinnell, among many others.

The program also features internal projects such as the Literary Circular and Read Local: Eat Local, which provide opportunities for students to edit and curate flash fiction and poetry publications in inventive formats.

Students usually complete their PhD in four to five years.


Colleen Abel, Paul Scott August, Debra Brenegan, Henri Cole, Aviva Cristy, Jose Dallsay, Derek Harriell, William (Trent) Hergenrader, Rachel Himmelherber, Caroline Knox, Emilie Lindemann, Anne McBee, Craig Medvecky, Phong Nguyen, Kyoko Mori, Melissa Olsen, Stephen Powers, Joseph Rein, Rene Steinke, Carroll Matthew Schumacher, Ron Tanner, Marilyn Taylor, Dave Yost