Institute of American Indian Arts

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Santa Fe, NM
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
February 1, 2021
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Santee Frazier
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Esther Belin, Sherwin Bitsui, Jennifer Elise Foerster, Santee Frazier, Joan Naviyuk Kane, Cedar Sigo, Ken White
Fiction: Ramona Ausubel, Marie-Helene Bertino, Brandon Hobson, Pam Houston, Toni Jensen, Stephen Graham Jones, Kristiana Kahakauwila, Chip Livingston, Tommy Orange, David Treuer
Nonfiction: Kimberly Blaeser, Pam Houston, Toni Jensen, Chip Livingston
Screenwriting: Sydney Freeland, Geoff Harris, Migizi Pensoneau, Brooke Swaney Pepion, Ken White

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers a range of merit-based scholarships.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program emphasizes Native American and First Nations writing. The program offers a degree in screenwriting, in addition to degrees in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction.The program offers a Residency-Only option for non-degree-seeking applicants.

Students attend two eight-day residencies each year, in January and July, at the Institute of American Indian Arts campus in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Students also attend a graduation residency in the May of their second year.

The program hosts a visiting writers series.