Sean Mac Falls


Port Angeles, WA

Author's Bio

Seán Mac Falls is an Irish poet. Belonging to no group or movement and operating outside of literary fashions, his brand of symbolist poetry can, at first reading, appear difficult. His use of allusion, startling diction and subtle punning display submerged metaphor in his work. The overall effect is a fresh implementation of Imagism.
He has published two books of poetry and several chapbooks. His first collection of poems, 20 Poems was praised, first from Oxford University don, John Carey, who compared the poet to W. B. Yeats and later by Yale critic Harold Bloom.  Several of the poems were Pushcart Prize nominations and were reprinted in major UK magazines such as Agenda, The London Magazine and Stand Magazine.
He published a second book, entitled The Blue Falcon, in 2010.

Publications & Prizes

Grrrrr, Poems about Bears (Arctos Press, 2004)
The Blue Falcon (Peregrine Smith Books, 2010)
20 Poems (Peregrine Smith Books, 2001)
Irish Literary Supplement
, ,
New Welsh Review
, ,
Poetry Ireland Review
Poetry Magazine
Prizes won: 

Stanley Joseph Award, Pushcart Prize

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Identifies as: 
Irish American
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Raised in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Jul 11, 2012