Lisa Rosenberg


Menlo Park, CA
California US

Author's Bio

Lisa Rosenberg is the author of A Different Physics, winner of the Red Mountain Poetry Prize. She holds degrees in physics and creative writing, and served as 2017-2018 Poet Laureate of San Mateo County, California. A former Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, she worked as an engineer in the space program, founded a marketing consulting practice, and flew as a private pilot. Lisa’s poetry appears in The Threepenny Review, POETRY, Witness, Southwest Review, The POETRY Anthology: 1912-2002, and elsewhere. She has a craft essay forthcoming, about her years in the military-industrial complex. Earlier prose publications include technology trade and research. Lisa speaks, consults, and instructs in multidisciplinary settings, with a focus on commonality between arts and sciences, and bringing tools of poetry into the urgent discourse on our modes of inquiry and enterprise. Her poems explore natural and cultural landscapes, the art of making, and the interwoven terrain of the human and the technological. She has been awarded a 2020 Djerassi Residency for Scientists and Artists.

Publications & Prizes

Poetry Daily: 366 Poems from the World's Most Popular Poetry Website (Sourcebooks, 2003)
The Poetry Anthology, 1912-2002: Ninety Years of America's Most Distinguished Verse Magazine (Ivan R. Dee, 2003)
A Different Physics (Red Mountain Press, 2018)
Journals: ,
Negative Capability
, , ,
, ,
The American Journal of Poetry
, ,
Prizes won: 

2020 Djerassi Residency for Scientist-Artists, 2017 Red Mountain Poetry Prize for A Different Physics, 2015 2nd place Morton Marr Prize (Southwest Review), 2003 Frances Locke Memorial Award (The Bitter Oleander), 2004 Erika Mumford Prize (Poetry Club of New England).

Wallace Stegner Fellowship, Stanford University.

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
English, French, Greek
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Sep 27, 2019