Jeffrey Harrison


(508) 785-1923

Author's Bio

Jeffrey Harrison is the author of five full-length books of poetry: The Singing Underneath (1988), selected by James Merrill for the National Poetry Series, Signs of Arrival (1996), Feeding the Fire (2001), Incomplete Knowledge, (Four Way Books, 2006), which was runner-up for the 2008 Poets’ Prize, and Into Daylight (Tupelo, 2014), winner of the Dorset Prize and finalist for the Massachusetts Book Award. In addition, a selected poems, The Names of Things, was published in the U.K. by the Waywiser Press in 2006. He has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the NEA, and the Bogliasco Foundation, among other honors. His poems have appeared in The New Republic, The New Yorker, AGNI, The Hudson Review, Poetry, The Yale Review, Best American Poetry, The Twentieth Century in Poetry, and in many other magazines and anthologies. He has taught at George Washington University, Phillips Academy, where he was Writer-in-Residence, College of the Holy Cross, and the Stonecoast MFA Program at the University of Southern Maine, and has been a visiting poet at many schools

Publications & Prizes

The Twentieth Century in Poetry (Pegasus Books, 2018)
Best American Poetry (Scribner, 2016)
Pushcart Prize XXXVIII (Pushcart Press, 2014)
Into Daylight (Tupelo Press, 2014)
Incomplete Knowledge (Four Way Books, 2006)
The Names of Things (Waywiser Press, 2006)
Feeding the Fire (Sarabande Books, 2001)
Signs of Arrival (Copper Beech Press, 1996)
The Singing Underneath (Dutton, 1988)
New Republic
Paris Review
, ,
The Nation
The New Yorker
Prizes won: 

Guggenheim Fellowship, National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, Bogliasco Fellowship, Massachusetts Book Award finalist, Pushcart Prize (3), Lavan Younger Poets Award (Academy of American Poets), Amy Lowell Traveling Scholarship.

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Cincinnati, OH
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Oct 03, 2016