Janet Beard

Fiction Writer

Author's Bio

Born and raised in East Tennessee, Janet Beard moved to New York to study screenwriting at NYU and went on to earn an MFA in creative writing from The New School. Her first novel, Beneath the Pines, was published in 2008, and her follow-up, The Atomic City Girls, became an international bestseller in 2018. Her latest novel, The Ballad of Laurel Springs, was published in October 2021. Janet has lived and worked in Australia, England, Boston, and Columbus, Ohio, where she is currently raising a daughter and working on a new novel. 


Publications & Prizes

The Ballad of Laurel Springs (Simon & Schuster, 2021)
The Atomic City Girls (William Morrow, 2018)
Beneath the Pines (Two Dollar Radio, 2008)

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Identifies as: 
Appalachian, Feminist
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Knoxville, TN
Raised in: 
Sevierville, TN
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Oct 22, 2021