Danielle Mitchell


Author's Bio

Danielle Mitchell is a  feminist poet, teaching artist, and entrepreneur. She is the Founding Director of The Poetry Lab, a community-based learning program that rallies in service of working class writers across the globe. Danielle is the author of Makes the Daughter-in-Law Cry, winner of the Clockwise Chapbook Prize (Tebot Bach, 2017). Her poems have appeared in Hayden’s Ferry Review, Vinyl, Four Way Review, Transom, New Orleans Review, Nailed Magazine and others. Danielle has received scholarships to travel to Patmos Island, Greece to study poetry, as well as grants from Poets & Writers and the Ashaki M. Jackson No Barriers Grant from the Women Who Submit. She is the inaugural winner of the Editor's Prize from Mary Magazine and the Editor's Choice Award from The Mas Tequila Review. She has performed on stages all over Southern California including the Segerstrom Center for the Arts. Danielle holds a B.A. in Women's and Gender Studies and Creative Writing from the University of Redlands and is an alumna of the Community of Writers. She is currently working on a manuscript of poems about misogyny and the Internet.

Publications & Prizes

Makes the Daughter-in-Law Cry (Tebot Bach, 2017)
Journals: ,
Connotation Press
Prizes won: 

2015 Clockwise Chapbook Prize (Tebot Bach)
2015 Editor's Prize (Mary Magazine)
2014 Editor's Choice Award for “Postcard Trapped in the City of Industry” selected by Richard Vargas (The Mas Tequila Review)


Personal Favorites

Favorite authors: 
A. Van Jordan, Audre Lorde, Anne Carson, Melissa Kwasny, Terrance Hayes, Aimee Nezhukumatahtil, Laura Kasischke, Jenny Boully, Maggie Nelson, Angela Veronica Wong, Edwidge Danticat
What I'm reading now: 
Gephyromania by TC Tolbert, The Performance of Being Human by Daniel Borzutzky, Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Identifies as: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Jun 28, 2021