| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

University of Idaho

MFA Program

Moscow, Idaho, the Heart of the Arts, lies in the Palouse hills surrounded by Idaho's wild rivers and mountains.

MFA Program Established: 
Moscow, Idaho
Genres Include:
Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Nonfiction
3 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline:
January 15, 2016
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Bret Shepard
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poets: Ron McFarland, Alexandra Teague and Robert Wrigley. Fiction writer: Daniel Orozco. Nonfiction writers: Kim Barnes, Brandon Schrand, and Scott Slovic.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Teaching Assistantships, Hemingway Fellowship in fiction, Hogue Family Scholarships, Grace Nixon Scholarships

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 


Other Features: 

This program offers year-long novel-writing and long-form nonfiction courses. Distinguished Visiting Writers series includes 1:1 sessions with prominent writers. The program partners with the Hemingway Foundation/PEN New England and hosts an annual Hemingway Festival that features the PEN/Hemingway winner. Writing-in-the-Wild writing retreats take students to spectacular Idaho wilderness areas.  


Ben George, Jen Hirt, Stephanie Lenox, Jerry Mathes, Joe Wilkins

Back to MFA Programs Database Listings

Speakeasy Threads

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2016. All Rights Reserved