Sam Gridley

c/o P. M. Gordon Associates, Inc. 2115 Wallace Street
Philadelphia, PA 19130

Author's Bio

Sam Gridley is the author of the novels THE SHAME OF WHAT WE ARE and THE BIG HAPPINESS. His fiction and satire have appeared in more than fifty magazines and anthologies. He has received two fellowships from the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts and a Wallace Stegner Fellowship from Stanford University. He lives in Philadelphia with his wife and neurotic dog and hangs out at the website

Publications and Prizes

American Short Fiction, Calapooya Collage, Cimarron Review, Cottonwood Magazine, Cottonwood Review, Cream City Review, Epoch, Other Voices, Passages North, South Dakota Review, The Long Story, Wind Magazine
Prizes Won: 
First Place, Fiction, Ian MacMillan Writing Awards, Hawai‘i Review, 2016 (“The Genuine Article”) Semifinalist, William Faulkner–William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition (short story), Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society, 2015 (“Will’s Power”) Winner, Flash Fiction Contest, Tethered by Letters Quarterly Literary Journal, 2014 (“A Little Girl’s Mouth”) Third Prize, 2013 Story Contest, Northwind (“Procession”) Third Place, Arthur Edelstein Prize for Short Fiction, The Writing Site, 2004 (“A Glutton for Pain”) Honorable Mention, Wassmode Fiction Contest, Passages North, 2002 (“A Modified Whammy”) Fiction Contest Winner, The Cream City Review, 2001 (“Weed Lake”) Pennsylvania Council on the Arts Literature Fellowships, 1993 and 1997 Finalist, Raymond Carver Short Story Contest, Toyon, 1993 Finalist, Patrick T. T. Bradshaw Award, Amelia, 1989 Honorable Mention, Alice Carter Awards, Cottonwood, 1986 (“Reunion”) Milton Glick Award for Fiction, South Dakota Review, 1979–1980 (“Randolph Hurd”) Wallace Stegner Fellowship in Creative Writing (Fiction), Stanford University, 1970–1971

Reviews, Recordings, and Interviews

More Information

Listed as: 
Fiction Writer
Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last updated: Nov 04, 2016