Omnidawn Contest Promises Poet Participation

The annual poetry contest sponsored by Omnidawn Publishing, the independent press founded in 2001 by Rusty Morrison and Ken Keegan, is now open for submissions; the deadline is June 30. Judge Ann Lauterbach will choose either a first or second full-length poetry collection for the two-thousand-dollar prize. The winning work will be published by Omnidawn in Fall 2010.

According the press's Web site, Morrison and Keegan started Omindawn "to create books that are most closely aligned with each author's vision, and to provide an interactive and rewarding publishing experience for poets and writers." In order to fulfill that mission (and, in the process, avoid the less-than-ideal relationship between publisher and poet that can result from other contests) they encourage authors to be an active participant in the production of the book. "As with other Omnidawn books, we will encourage the winning poet to participate in the design of the book, including choice of typefaces, cover artwork and design, with all stages subject to the approval of the winning poet," the editors wrote in an e-mail announcing the 2009 contest. "All costs, including production, distribution, and advertising will be fully paid by Omnidawn."

Last year's winning book, Michelle Taransky's Barn Burned, Then, chosen by Marjorie Welish, will be published in September.

The 2009 Omnidawn Poetry Contest carries a twenty-five-dollar entry fee. For complete guidelines, visit the press's Web site.