Deadline Approaches for Red Wheelbarrow Poetry Prize

Submissions are currently open for the 2018 Red Wheelbarrow Poetry Prize. An award of $1,000 and publication in Red Wheelbarrow will be given annually for a poem. The winner will also receive a letterpress broadside of the winning poem from Moving Parts Press. Award-winning poet Naomi Shihab Nye will judge.

Using the online submission system, submit up to 3 poems of no more than one page each with a $15 entry fee by August 15.  

Judge Naomi Shihab Nye, whose most recent collection is Transfer: Poems (BOA Editions, 2011), is the author of ten volumes of poetry, as well as several fiction books for children, musical recordings, and poetry translations. Nye’s numerous accolades include a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Academy of American Poets Lavan Award, and the Paterson Poetry Prize.

The Red Wheelbarrow Poetry Prize was established in 2017 by Red Wheelbarrow, the literary magazine published by De Anza College in Cupertino, California, and the Poetry Center San José. Poet Ellen Bass judged the inaugural contest; The winner was Partridge Boswell for her poem “Pop a Wheelie.” Visit the Red Wheelbarrow website for more information.

(Photo: Naomi Shihab Nye; Credit: Ha Lam)