Dali-Inspired Contest Closes at Midnight

Moon Milk Review, a free literary (and art and music) magazine whose aesthetic tends toward the "'otherlands' or 'slipstream' in literary style, including an appreciation for magical realist, surrealist, metarealist, and realist works with an offbeat spin," is holding a no-fee "prosetry" writing contest—but only through today. The journal is asking for a work of micro fiction, strictly under five hundred words, that responds to Salvador Dalí's painting Three Young Surrealist Women Holding in Their Arms the Skins of an Orchestra (1936), which is displayed on their Web site.

There is no cash prize, but the winning work will be published by Moon Milk Review, which offers a new issue monthly online.

Entries can take any form, as long as they relate to the painting and honor the length constraint. The online submission form and more about what the journal is looking for are available on the Moon Milk Review Web site

For a bit more Dalí inspiration, check out the video below, the dream sequence scene from the 1945 film Spellbound designed by the artist.


Moon Milk Review now The Doctor T. J. Eckleburg Review

Thanks so much for the mention. We wanted to let everyone know that Moon Milk Review is now The Doctor T. J. Eckleburg Review, owned and operated by Moon Milk Press, Inc. and housed at The Johns Hopkins University, M. A. in Writing program. We take our name from F. Scott Fitzgerald's, The Great Gatsby. Staying with our original MMR vision, we run quarterly issues and look for literary mainstream to experimental works. We like character-based storytelling with rigor, humor, wit, satire, offbeat vibes, grittiness, realism, magic realism, and surrealism. We accept fiction, poetry, nonfiction, art, music, and multimedia, and we run a daily salon with articles, essays, music, comedy and gallery spotlights. Eckleburg still offers our the prosetry contests each issue with guest judges and now offers an annual fiction contest--The Gertrude Stein Award in Fiction. This year's judge is acclaimed author, Rick Moody. We've recently raised the award amount from $500 to $1000 awarded to first place winner, along with publication, announced at AWP. Second and third place winning stories will be published at Eckleburg along with a list of authors' names who receive an honorable mention. Read more here: http://thedoctortjeckleburgreview.com/the-gertrude-stein-award-in-fiction/


Rae Bryant

Editor in Chief

The Doctor T. J. Eckleburg Review