Colorado State University

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Fort Collins, CO
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
3 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
January 1, 2024
Application Fee: 
Contact Name: 
Emily Dailey
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Dan Beachy-Quick, Matthew Cooperman, Camille Dungy, Sasha Steensen
Fiction: Andrew Altschul, Ramona Ausubel, Nina McConigley
Nonfiction: Harrison Candelaria Fletcher

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers six to eight fully-funded graduate teaching assistantship positions per year, as well as a number of smaller fellowships. The program also offers assistance to students in finding paid internships.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

This program features a dual-genre thesis option, as well as the Creative Writing Reading Series (recent visitors include Ada Limón, Yusef Komunyakaa, Susan Steinberg, Ross Gay, Sunil Yapa, Carl Phillips) and the 5X5 Reading Series.

Award-winning journalist and 2023 Pulitzer Prize finalist Vauhini Vara will join the 2023-2024 academic year as a Visiting Assistant Professor of English.