Archive June 2019

June 15 Contest Roundup

Writers! Three days left to send your work to the following contests, all with a deadline of June 15. There are opportunities for poets, fiction writers, and translators. All of the contests offer a first-place prize of at least $1,000 and publication.

Bitter Oleander Press Library of Poetry Book Award: A prize of $1,000 and publication by Bitter Oleander Press is given annually for a poetry collection. Entry fee: $28.

University of Akron Press Poetry Prize: A prize of $1,500 and publication by University of Akron Press is given annually for a poetry collection. Victoria Chang will judge. Entry fee: $20.

Philadelphia Stories Marguerite McGlinn Prize for Fiction: A prize of $2,500 and publication in Philadelphia Stories is given annually for a short story. The winner will also receive travel and lodging expenses to read at Rosemont College in October. Writers currently living in the United States are eligible. Entry fee: $15.

American-Scandinavian Foundation Translation Prizes: A prize of $2,500 and publication of an excerpt in Scandinavian Review is given annually for an English translation of a work of poetry, fiction, or creative nonfiction written in a Nordic language. A prize of $2,000 and publication is also awarded to a translator whose literary translations have not previously been published. Translations of works by Scandinavian authors born after 1900 that have not been published in English are eligible. Entry fee: none.

Visit the contest websites for complete guidelines, and check out the Grants & Awards database and Submission Calendar for more contests in poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction.

Futurepoem Contest Open for Submissions

Submissions are currently open for The Other Futures Award, given by Futurepoem for a book-length work of poetry, prose, or multi-genre writing. The editors of Futurepoem launched the award this year to recognize “innovative, adventurous work that challenges conventions of genre and language, content and form.” The winner will receive $1,000 and will be published by Futurepoem in 2021.

Using the online submission system, submit a manuscript of any length—the suggested length is 50 to 100 pages—with a $28 entry fee by June 15. Dan Machlin, Carly Dashiell, Ariel Yelen, and Aiden Garabed Farrell—Futurepoem’s permanent editors and staff—will judge. The winning entry will be announced by September 15. Visit the website for complete guidelines.

“The Other Futures Award focuses on innovative, experimental poetry and cross-genre literature,” write the editors. “We are interested in considering work that imagines new literary possibilities, pushes the boundaries, and questions established paradigms.”

Founded in 2002, Futurepoem is a New York City–based publishing collaborative. It has a rotating editorial panel and is “dedicated to presenting innovative works of contemporary poetry and prose by both emerging and important underrepresented writers.” Dan Machlin is founder and executive editor. Recent releases include Jennifer Soong’s debut poetry collection, Near, At; Emmalea Russo’s debut poetry collection, G; and Aby Kaupang and Matthew Cooperman’s collaborative poetry collection NOS (disorder, not otherwise specified).