The Poets & Writers Gala | In Celebration of Writers

The Poets & Writers Gala celebrates the indispensable contributions of writers both to our national discourse and to the inner lives of readers. Funds raised will enable Poets & Writers to provide broad access to information about publishing and help writers from all backgrounds build community, connect with opportunities, and advance their careers.

The 2024 Gala will take place on Tuesday, March 26, at Pier Sixty in New York City. David Remnick will host. Laurie Halse Anderson, Roxane Gay, and Nikole Hannah-Jones will receive the 2024 Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award. Mitchell Kaplan will be honored with the Champion for Writers Award. Nihar Malaviya, CEO of Penguin Random House, is our gala chair.

Read the press release.

Purchase tables or tickets here

To pledge your support and request an invoice, contact

View the gala invitation.


Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Rumaan Alam
Christina Baker Kline
Colin Channer
Kirstin Chen
Michael Cunningham
Sarah Cypher
Erica Armstrong Dunbar
Cornelius Eady
Janet Fitch
Sidik Fofana
Kim Coleman Foote
Kristen Gentry
Masha Gessen
Xochitl Gonzalez
Rigoberto González
Sierra Greer
Lauren Grodstein
James Hannaham
Susan Isaacs
Tyehimba Jess
Anita Gail Jones
Crystal Hana Kim
Jean Hanff Korelitz
R. F. Kuang
Joanne Leedom-Ackerman
Sam Lipsyte
J. Vanessa Lyon
Magogodi oaMphela Makhene
Emily St. John Mandel
Alice McDermott
Idra Novey
Chigozie Obioma
Chris Pavone
Deesha Philyaw
Francine Prose
Claudia Rankine
Ruben Reyes Jr.
Roxana Robinson
Jess Row 
Gretchen Rubin
Shannon Saunders
Eric Schlich
Vijay Seshadri
Brenda Shaughnessy
Joan Silber
Safiya Sinclair
Patricia Smith 
Patricia Spears Jones
Emma Straub
Julius Taranto
Amor Towles
Lily Tuck
Weike Wang
Meg Wolitzer

*List in formation.

To learn more about Poets & Writers' mission, please watch this brief video.