National Book Foundation

National Book Awards

May 15, 2024 - Check back on April 15th for Upcoming Deadline
Entry Fee: 
Cash Prize: 
E-mail address: 

Four prizes of $10,000 each are given annually for books of poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and young people’s literature written by U.S. writers and published in the United States during the previous year. A $10,000 prize is also given for an English translation of a book of fiction or nonfiction by a living writer and translator published in the United States during the previous year. Finalists in all categories receive $1,000 each. Publishers may submit titles published or scheduled for publication between December 1, 2023, and November 30, 2024, for consideration via the online submission form with a $135 entry fee per title by May 15. Additionally, a digital copy and six hard copies (or bound galleys) of the books must be submitted to the judges and the National Book Foundation by May 31 (for books published in the first half of the eligibility year) or by July 1 (for books published in the second half). Visit the website for the required entry form and complete guidelines.

National Book Foundation, National Book Awards, 90 Broad Street, Suite 604, New York, NY 10004. (212) 685-0261. Ale Romero, Communications Manager.