Meadowlark Press

See writers who are published by this small press
Genres Published: 
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
Representative Authors: 
Kevin Rabas, Poet Laureate of Kansas (2017-2019), Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg, Poet Laureate of Kansas (2009-2012), Cheryl Unruh, two-time Kansas Notable Book Award winnerRoy J. Beckemeyer, Nelson Poetry Book Award winnerEdna Bell-Pearson, 2020 Kansas Notable Book Award winnerMichael D. Graves - 2016 & 2021 Kansas Notable Book Award, James Kenyon - Two-time Martin Kansas History Book Award winner
Book Types: 
Novella, Short story collections, Essay collections, Novel, Memoir, Poetry collections
Paperback, Hardcover, E-book, Audio
Reading Period: 
Sep 1 to Dec 1
Temporarily closed to submissions
Response Time: 
Greater than 6 months
Charges Reading Fee: 
Publishes Through Contests Only: 
Accepts Unsolicited Submissions: 
Accepts Simultaneous Submissions: 
Titles per Year: 
11 to 20
Meadowlark Press - We encourage readers to purchase direct from our bookstore ( Indie-Bound Ingram Amazon

Editorial Focus

Specializing in Books by Authors from the Heartland Since 2014

Meadowlark Press is an independent publisher, born of a desire to produce high-quality books for print and electronic delivery. Our goal is to create a network and system of support for today’s independent author. Our service is to ensure that the stories we love and believe in are presented to readers in a manner that enhances an author’s work.

Tips From the Editor

Read our guidelines before entering. 

Watch for our open reading periods. Our processes are evolving and changing as we grow!

Contact Information

Tracy Million Simmons, Owner/Publisher
PO Box 333
Emporia, KS 66801
Contact E-mail: 
Please note: The information provided in this database is provided by the publishers listed in it.
Last updated: Jul 24, 2023