Vermont College of Fine Arts—Writing

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Montpelier, VT
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
25-30 per semester
Application Deadline: 
September 1, 2020
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Ann Cardinal
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Mark Cox, Matthew Dickman, Richard Jackson, Parneshia Jones, Philip Metres, Tomás Q. Morín, Natasha Sajé, Betsy Sholl, Leslie Ullman, Nance Van Winckel, David Wojahn
Fiction: Trinie Dalton, Connie May Fowler, Abby Frucht, Douglas Glover, David Jauss, T. Geronimo Johnson, Ellen Lesser, Brian Leung, Bret Lott, Richard McCann, Clint McCown, Adam McOmber, Hasanthika Sirisena, Nance Van Winckel, Robert Vivian
Creative Nonfiction: Harrison Candelaria Fletcher, Connie May Fowler, Douglas Glover, Barbara Hurd, Bret Lott, Patrick Madden, Terese Mailhot, Richard McCann, Elena Passarello, Sue William Silverman, Robert Vivian

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 
Other Features: 

Students attend two 10-day residencies each year, in June/July and December/January, on the VCFA campus in Montpelier, Vermont. The program offers a translation concentration, as well as opportunities for dual-genre study. Students also have the opportunity to attend a residency abroad in Cozumel or Slovenia. The Cozumel residency takes place in January; the Slovenia residency takes place in June.

For Summer/Fall, the priority scholarship deadline is February 1; the final deadline is March 15 for Summer/Fall. For Winter/Spring the priority deadline is August 1; the final deadline is September 15.


Nickole Brown, Alison Hawthorne Deming, Evan Fallenberg, Harrison Candeleria Fletcher, Allison Adele Hedge Coke, Bob Hicok, LeAnne Howe, Wally Lamb, Jeffrey Thomas Leong, Melissa Pritchard, Jo-Ann Mapson, Maureen Seaton, Mahtem Shiferraw, Tim Seibles, Neela Vaswani, Donald Quist