University of Tennessee, Knoxville

PhD Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Knoxville, TN
Poetry, Fiction
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
December 1, 2023
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Michael Knight
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Cornelius Eady, Iliana Rocha
Fiction: Margaret Lazarus Dean, Christopher Hebert, Michael Knight
Nonfiction: Margaret Lazarus Dean

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers full funding. All students receive a tuition waiver, stipend, and health insurance for up to five years.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts the University of Tennessee Creative Writing Series. Students also hold key editorial positions on Grist.


Marcel Brouwers, Matt Brock, Katie Condon, Christian Gerard, Jesse Goolsby, Jesse Graves, Tawnysha Greene, Otis Hashemeyer, Laura Hoffer, Jessie Janeshek, Charlotte Pence, Adam Prince, Jeremy Michael Reed, Joshua Robbins, Michael Shou-Yung Shum, Brad Tice, M. O. Walsh.