University of Southern Mississippi

PhD Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Hattiesburg, MS
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Cross-Genre
3 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
February 1, 2024
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Adam Clay
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Michael Aderibigbe, Angela Ball, Adam Clay

Fiction: J. A. Bernstein, Olivia Clare Friedman

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program is fully funded; it offers competitive assistantships up to $17,000 at the PhD level, along with subsidized health insurance, partial support for conference travel and writing expenses, and other award opportunities.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

Since 2012, the Visiting Writers Series has included poets Natasha Trethewey, Hanif Abdurraqib, Eduardo Corral, Ada Limón, Natalie, Shapero, Kevin Young, Don Bogen, Alex Lemon, Caki Wilkinson, Adam Vines, Catherine Pierce, Farrah Field, Allan Peterson, and L. Lamar Wilson, as well as fiction writers Jamel Brinkley, Katy Simpson Smith, Justin Torres, Lauren Groff, Mary Miller, Michael Farris Smith, and Peter Orner.

There is also a student reading series and literary salons. Once per semester, a Submit-a-Thon is held where the school funds each student to submit to journals, contests, and conferences.

Application deadlines are February 1 for fall admission funding and October 15 for spring admission funding.


Annette Boehm, Steve Bellin-Oka, Allison Campbell, Kim Chinquee, Jessica Guzman, Micah Dean Hicks, John Holman, Mary Miller, Nickalus Rupert, Michael Farris Smith, Andrea Spofford