University of North Texas

PhD Program

Denton, TX
Not Genre-Specific, Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
4 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
45 (MA and PhD students combined)
Application Deadline: 
January 1, 2019
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Corey Marks
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Bruce Bond, Jehanne Dubrow, Corey Marks
Fiction: Scott Blackwood, Ian McGuire, Miroslav Penkov, John Tait
Nonfiction: Bonnie Friedman, Jill Talbot

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Fellowships, scholarships, and editorial positions available at American Literary Review.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts a Visiting Writers Series.

The UNT Rilke Award is a 10K award recognizing the artistry and vision of a collection written by a mid-career poet. Contact