University of Nevada, Reno at Tahoe

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Incline Village, NV
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
October 1, 2024
Application Fee: 
Contact Name: 
June Sylvester Saraceno
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry:  Rick Campbell, Cathy Linh Che, Lee Herrick, Faylita Hicks, Laura McCullough, Gailmarie Pahmeier, Brynn Saito, Brian Turner

Fiction: Brendan Basham, Alan Heathcock, Patrick Hicks, Rebecca Makkai, Peter Mountford, Lidia Yuknavitch

Nonfiction: Gayle Brandeis, Gina Frangello, Leta McCollough, Suzanne Roberts, Kristal Sital, Lidia Yuknavitch, Arianne Zwartjes

WCYA: Pablo Cartaya, Traci Chee, Joe McGee, Isabel Quintero, Kathryn Reiss, Jess Rinker, Lilliam Rivera

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 

Sierra Nevada Review

Other Features: 

Students attend two ten-day residencies each year, in January and August at Lake Tahoe. The program also occasionally hosts an optional international residency.

Each student works with an editor-in-the-field during their final mentoring semester. Editors-in-residence include Anitra Budd, Rick Campbell, Peter Catapano, Gina Frangello, Steven Woodward, Arianne Zwartjes, and more.

Students also have the opportunity to gain editorial experience by working on the Sierra Nevada Review.

The program hosts the Writers in the Woods series that brings in guest faculty. Guest faculty include Carmen Maria Machado, Kim Addonizio, Luis Alberto Urrea, Natalie Handal, Patricia Smith, Tim O’Brien, Kaveh Akbar, Pam Houston, Brenda Hillman, Robert Hass, Carolyn Forché, Nick Flynn, and more.

The deadline for fall admission is May 1; the deadline for spring admission is October 1.


Rebecca Evans, Faylita Hicks, Luke Johnson, Brooke King, La La Thompson