The Writer’s Foundry at St. Joseph’s College

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Brooklyn, NY
Poetry, Fiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
March 1, 2022
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Lee Clay Johnson, Director
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Anaïs Duplan, Randall Horton, Catherine Meehan, Carly Joy Miller
Fiction: David Gates, Steven Hobbs, Lee Clay Johnson, Andrew Martin, Cleyvis Natera

Past master lecturers have included Amy Hempel, Major Jackson, Mary Gaitskill, Nathan McClain, Francine Prose, and Ocean Vuong.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers partial funding. Each applicant is considered for a Writer’s Foundry Tuition Scholarship. Teaching and mentorship opportunities are also available for second-year MFA students.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The Master Lecture Series brings visiting writers to the program for evenings of lecture and literary conversation. St. Joseph’s College also hosts the Brooklyn Voices series of lectures, forums, performances, and public discussions. 

The priority deadline is March 1. Applications submitted after March 1 will be reviewed on a rolling basis.


Eric Boyd, Scott Bremer, Kimberly Bunker, Sergei Burbank, Gabriella Burnham, Jason Burstein, Ayana Byrd, Kelly Castagnaro, Jamiyla Chisolm, Meredith Clavin, Samantha Coggin, Erica David, Myles Ehrlich, Sameem Elahi, Francisco Franklin, Kourtney Fullard, Karen Good-Marable, Erik Groff, Rita Hickey, Helen Hofling, Michiel Hupkes, Sue Jaye-Johnson, Janine Latham, Cristobal Majcherski, Rachel Maldonado, Audrey Matson, Bernice L. McFadden, Catherine Meehan, Wanda Moore, Brian Morgan, Tim O'Sullivan, Daniel Parsons, Sumitra Rajkumar, Lorraine Rice, Emily Rubin, Karen Schoemer, Justin Smeak, Charlie Waters, Nancy Weber, Alexa Wilding, Hannah Wood