Sierra Nevada University

See writers who attended this program

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Incline Village, NV
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
15 per residency
Application Deadline: 
Rolling Admissions
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Daniel Davis
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Carolyn Forché, Nathalie Handal, Lee Herrick, Laura McCullough, John Murillo, Gailmarie Pahmeier, June Saraceno, Patricia Smith, Brian Turner, Laura Wetherington
Fiction: Natalie Baszile, Alan Heathcock, Tim Hernandez, Patrick Hicks, Rebecca Makkai, Joanne Meschery, Peter Mountford, Sunil Yapa
Nonfiction: Gayle Brandeis, Benjamin Busch, Steven Church, Kelle Groom, Lacy M. Johnson, Suzanne Roberts, Kristal Sital, Brian Turner, Arianne Zwartjes

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program also offers a degree in writing for children and young adults, with core faculty including Gayle Brandeis, Pablo Cartaya, Joe McGee, Isabel Quintero, Jess Regel, and Jessica Rinker.

Students attend two eight-day residencies each year, in January and August, at the Sierra Nevada University at Lake Tahoe. The program hosts an international residency options, too; the residency location is Doolin, Ireland (August 2019).

Each student works with an editor-in-the-field during their final mentoring semester. Editors-in-residence include Anitra Budd, Ben Barnhart, Rick Campbell, Joanna Cardenas, Gabriel Fried, David Lamb, and Kristen Radtke.

Students also have the opportunity to work on the Sierra Nevada Review.

The program hosts a writers-in-residence series, including the Kundiman Writer-in-Residence and IAIA Writer-in-Residence.

The funding application deadline is July 1 for the fall semester and December 1 for the spring semester.