Northern Arizona University

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Flagstaff, AZ
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Cross-Genre
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
February 1, 2023
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Chelsey Johnson
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Sherwin Bitsui, Nicole Walker
Fiction: Chelsey Johnson, Lawrence Lenhart
Nonfiction: KT Thompson, Nicole Walker, Lawrence Lenhart

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers partial funding. The program offers competitive graduate teaching assistantships with tuition waivers and full benefits, alongside a limited number of tuition waivers, and university-wide at-large graduate assistantships also provide full tuition coverage, benefits and a stipend. The Dockstader Fellowship offers research support and funding for Indigenous students. The Diana Gabaldon Scholarship offers awards of up to $2000 for MFA students of extraordinary merit. 90 percent of students are usually fully funded.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

NAU’s MFA Program also offers a graduate certificate in Environmental Narrative, which trains students to write literary fiction and nonfiction that incorporates scientific inquiry and place-based narratives for a wide audience interested in ecology, sustainability, and climate change and solutions. Students may work in a range of genres, including realism, speculative fiction, nature writing, longform nonfiction, and lyric, braided, and poetic forms. The MFA program also helps host the biennial NonfictioNow conference and the annual Northern Arizona Book Festival.


Lee Anderson, Michael Buckius, Sean Carswell, Margarita Cruz, Cymelle Edwards, Emily Forney, Jerry Gabriel, Tammy Greenwood-Stewart, Zoe Hitzel, Grace Liew, Bridget Lyons, Mel McCuin, tanner menard, Stacy Murison, Katie Quinnelly, Bo Schwabacher, Jesse Sensibar, Ana Maria Spagna