Naropa University

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Boulder, CO
Not Genre-Specific
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
5-15 each year
Application Deadline: 
Rolling Admissions
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
J'Lyn Chapman
Core Faculty Includes: 

Reed Bye, Mairead Case, J’Lyn Chapman, Gabrielle Civil, Jeffrey Pethybridge, Michelle Naka Pierce, Laura Pritchett, Chris Pusateri, Christopher Rosales, Sun Yung Shin, Sara Veglahn, and Anne Waldman.

Caren Beilin will serve as guest faculty in fall 2020.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers Berrigan, Creeley, and Kerouac Scholarships; four Zora Neale Hurston Scholarships; one Leslie Scalapino Award; one kari edwards Award; Charles B. Edison Jinpa Scholarships; W.E.B. DuBois Scholarships; and Naropa Honor Scholarships and Naropa Presidential Scholarships.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

Students attend fifteen days of residency each year: one three-day residency in the fall, one four-day residency in the spring, and one eight-day residency in June as part of the Summer Writing Program. The residencies all take place at Naropa University in Boulder, Colorado.

The program offers an open-genre degree with coursework in poetry, prose, and cross-genre.