Lancaster University

PhD Program

See writers who attended this program
Lancaster, England
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
Rolling Admissions
Application Fee: 
Contact Name: 
Teaching Office
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Sarah Corbett, Jane Draycott, Paul Farley, Oliver Langmead, Conor O’Callaghan, Eoghan Walls, Michelene Wandor
Prose: Jenn Ashworth, Elen Caldecott, Zoe Lambert, Oliver Landmead, Sara Maitland, Okey Nzelu, Michelene Wandor
Scriptwriting: Tajinder Singh Hayer

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers the AHRC Block Grant Research Studentship in English literature and a variety of faculty studentships.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program offers supervision in scriptwriting, poetry, and prose.

The program offers an online version for distance-learners, and hosts reading groups and conferences.


Andrew Miller (winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Award, International Dublin Literary Award and Costa Book of the Year); Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (winner of the Windham-Campbell Prize in Fiction); Dima Alzayat (James Tait Black Memorial Prize, finalist; PEN/Robert W. Bingham Award, finalist; Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize; Short Story Prize, longlist); Nguyen Phan Que Mai (finalist of the 2021 Dayton Literary Peace Prize, winner of the 2020 BookBrowse Best Debut Award, winner of the Blogger's Book Prize 2021, winner of the 2021 International Book Awards, winner of the 2021 PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Literary Award, and winner of the 2020 Lannan Literary Award Fellowship)