Hamline University, MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults

MFA Program

Program Established: 
St. Paul, MN
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
October 1, 2018
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Terry Horstman
Core Faculty Includes: 

Swati Avasthi, Coe Booth, Marsha Wilson Chall, Emily Jenkins (e. lockhart), Ron Koertge, Nina LaCour, Mary Logue, Jacqueline Briggs Martin, Claire Rudolf Murphy, Matt de la Pena, Phyllis Root, Laura Ruby, Gary Schmidt, Sherri L. Smith, Laurel Snyder, Anne Ursu, Gene Luen Yang

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers partial funding. The program offers many scholarships, including the Herman W. Block Memorial Scholarship ($5,000), the T.A. Barron Fellowship for Excellence in Fantasy Writing (up to $5,000), the Walden Pond Press Scholarship ($2,500), the Anne Stickney Schmidt Scholarship ($1,000), the Anne Tews Schwab Award for Excellence in Critical Writing ($1,000), the Vaunda Micheaux Nelson Scholarship for Writers of Color ($5,000), the Frances and Kermit Rudolf Nonfiction Scholarship ($1,000), and merit scholarships ranging from $500 to $1,000.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

Students attend two 11-day residencies each year, in January and July, at the Hamline University campus in Saint Paul. The program focuses on writing for children & young adults.

Students can study the following genres: picture book, early reader, middle-grade and young adult fiction, nonfiction, poetry and verse novel, comics, and graphic novel.

The application deadline is October 1 for the winter start and April 1 for the summer start.