Augsburg University

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Minneapolis, MN
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Cross-Genre
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
February 1, 2020
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Kathleen Matthews
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Jim Cihlar, Heid E. Erdrich, Cary Waterman
Fiction: Stephan Eirik Clark, Lindsay Starck
Nonfiction: Karen Babine, Marya Hornbacher
Playwriting: Carson Kreitzer, Sarah Myers
Screenwriting: Jeremy Bandow

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers no funding.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 

Howling Bird Press, which administers its annual National Book Prize.

Students enrolled in the publishing concentration work as editors of a literary press that publishes a book-length collection of prose or poetry each year.

Other Features: 

Students attend one ten-day residency each July at the Augsburg College campus in Minneapolis.

The program also offers degrees in playwriting and screenwriting, as well as concentrations in teaching practice and theory, translation, and publishing.

Admissions are accepted on a rolling basis; the priority deadline is February 1.