Russell Banks

Poet, Fiction Writer

New York, NY
New York US

Author's Bio

Russell Banks is a novelist known for his portrayals of the interior lives of characters at odds with economic and social forces. Banks was educated at Colgate University in New York and the University of North Carolina. From 1966 he was associated with Lillabulero Press, initially as editor and publisher. The press issued his first book of poems, Waiting to Freeze, in 1969. Other early works included the poetry collection Snow: Meditations of a Cautious Man in Winter (1974); Banks’s first novel, Family Life (1975); and a collection of stories entitled The New World (1978). Banks died at the age of eighty-two on January 7, 2023. (Bio via

Publications & Prizes


Lost Memory of Skin (Ecco Press, 2011)


The Darling (Harper Collins, 2005)
Angel on the Roof (Harper Collins, 2000)
Cloudsplitter (Harper Collins, 1998)
Rule of the Bone (Harper Collins, 1995)
Sweet Hereafter (Harper Collins, 1991)
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Jan 31, 2023